Three Buckeyes Earn Camp All-America Honors
James Laurinaitis.
James Laurinaitis.
Posted Dec 7, 2007

Three Ohio State players have earned All-America status this year from the Walter Camp Football Foundation: James Laurinaitis, Malcolm Jenkins and Vernon Gholston. Read on to find out where they placed, which Big Ten players join them and how many LSU Tigers are on the list as well.

When the 2007 season dawned, Ohio State pumped up linebacker James Laurinaitis, defensive end Vernon Gholston and cornerback Malcolm Jenkins, all juniors, as possible All-America candidates.

Those hopes came true Friday when the Walter Camp Football Foundation named Laurinaitis a first-team All-American, the second year in a row that the Minnesotan received the honor. Jenkins and Gholston were also tabbed, each earning second-team laurels.

Laurinaitis, who made 103 tackles and five sacks, joins Michigan offensive lineman Jake Long and Arkansas running back Darren McFadden, a Heisman finalist, as players to receive the first-team honor for the second year in a row.

For Jenkins and Gholston, this is the first Walter Camp All-America selection. The trio of Buckeyes is on a defense ranked first in the nation in both points and yards allowed.

Ohio State has the second-longest streak when it comes to first-team All-Americans. This is the seventh year in a row a Buckeye has made the first team, which is a year behind Texas’ streak that was continued this year by offensive lineman Tony Hills.

The Big Ten earned four first-team selections, giving it the second-most selections of any conference. The Big 12 was first with six players. Other Big Ten players to earn first-team honors along with Laurinaitis and Long are Wisconsin tight end Travis Beckum and Penn State linebacker Dan Connor. Beckum moved up from his second-team status a year ago.

Conference players on the second team include wideouts Mario Manningham of Michigan and James Hardy of Indiana, running back Mike Hart of Michigan, defensive linemen Greg Middleton of Indiana and Jonal Saint-Dic of Michigan State, and linebackers J. Leman of Illinois and Wolverine Shawn Crable. For Hart, the honor was the second straight second-team laurel.

BCS National Championship Game opponent LSU has two first-team choices: defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey and defensive back Craig Steltz.

Related Stories
Less Of A Good Thing
 -by  Dec 13, 2007
BSB Unveils All-Buckeye Beaten Team
 -by  Dec 14, 2007
A Renewed Focus
 -by  Nov 27, 2007

Subscribe today and get Buckeye Sports Bulletin, our team magazine absolutely free! So don’t wait ... Sign Up Today!
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
DE Vernon Gholston (profile)
CB Malcolm Jenkins (profile)
LB James Laurinaitis (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Cass Technical HS > Alumni
Football > Ohio State
Football > Piscataway Township HS > Alumni
Football > Wayzata Sr. > Alumni
[View My HotList]