Photo Gallery: St. Xavier D-I State Champions

St. Xavier head coach Steve Specht

For the fourth-consecutive year now Ohio's big school state championship was won by a Cincinnati-area team. A little over 20,000 fans packed Fawcett Stadium in Canton, just adjacent to the Pro Football Hall Of Fame, and watched the Bombers hold off a late surge from the Tigers of Massillon Washington earn the victory on the field, 24-17. Brad Scherer, Darius Ashley, Alex Albright, Matthew McFarland and Brad Brookbank were just a few of the Bombers who played a starring role in the victory.

Photo Gallery : St. Xavier Bombers 24 - Massillon Tigers 17

Darius Ashley

Brad Scherer

Alex Albright

Fred Craig

Nick Schneider

Brad Brookbank Recommended Stories

  • Ohio State wasn't quite where it wanted to be in the first-ever College Football Playoff rankings, but the season is far from over. BSB takes a look at OSU's ranking, who's overrated, who's underrated…

  • The St. John School in Ashtabula, Ohio, had fallen on hard times a few years ago. But Urban Meyer's alma mater is on the way back, and the surest sign might be the Friday Night Lights that are shining…

  • J.T. Barrett sprained his left MCL against Penn State, but the quarterback and coach Urban Meyer expect him to be able to play Saturday against Illinois.

  • We're at the halfway mark of the NFL season, so here's our first crack at a mock draft. Hey, Oakland Raiders, you're on the clock!

  • In early July, introduced a 2017 top 15. After spending time watching sophomores during the July evaluation periods and in the fall, it's time to extend that list to a top 50. DeAndre Ayton,…